Keys to a Successful At-Home Workout

Sometimes going to the gym, or going for a run just don’t appeal to me. That happened today.  I still wanted to get a workout in, so I decided to head to the guest room/office for an at-home workout.  I had a really good 35-minute circuit workout. I kept my heart rate up and was a sweaty mess by the end. My muscles were shaky, too. I haven’t always liked working out at home, but have learned some keys to having a successful at-home workout:

– Find a place without distractions. Don’t let the TV, pets or other people distract you from the task at hand. I have a good space in our office/guest room that works well for me.

– Find the right equipment. I don’t have a full home-gym with weight machines and a treadmill, but over the years I have acquired efficient and versatile equipment that doesn’t break the bank.  Here are my favorites:
Stability Ball: Great for abs, planks, and push ups.
Free weights: For me, 8lb weights are the most versatile for me. While at the gym I might do some exercises with heavier weights, I can do pretty much everything with the 8s. I also have 3 and 5 lbs but they don’t get much use.
Medicine Ball: Great for ab work and Kettlebell-type moves
Aeromat Balance Pods: These are like mini BOSU balls and only cost about $15 (versus the $100+ for the BOSU). I stand on them during bicep curls and tricep extensions. I put them under my forearms during planks, and lots of other things to add more difficulty and improve my balance.

– Crank up the iPod: In the past, I haven’t listened to music while working out at home. Today I did, and it made all the difference. I was able to use the music to pump me up and keep me going. Without the music, I think I get to bored and can hear the couch calling my name from the other room.

What are your tips for a great at-home workout? Do you make up your own workouts or use workout videos? I am looking forward to trying some YogaDownloads soon!

2 thoughts on “Keys to a Successful At-Home Workout

  1. Glad to see those balance pods are getting great use. Your post makes me realize my arms are super weak. I am having trouble using my 5 lb. dumbbells! Time to step up the strength training…

  2. […] exercise and I was too lazy to drive to the gym.  Luckily I have everything I need to have a great workout at home.  I did a variety of upper and lower body exercises with jumping jacks and high knees mixed in to […]

Leave a Reply

