Possibly the Hardest Part of Training

I have a confession…

I am a horrible napper.  Ever since my Freshman year of college, I lost the ability to nap. I think it is because I didn’t want to miss anything.  Living in the dorms and the sorority house, there was so much going on. I would typically be the last person to go to sleep and the first to wake up.  That way I wouldn’t miss a thing!

This has carried over to my adult life and whenever I try to nap my mind starts racing and thinking of all the other things I need to be doing.

But lately I have been making a concerted effort to improve my napping skills.  I know how important rest is to training and with the triathlon coming up and marathon training starting later in the summer, I need to make sure to give my body as much rest as possible.

After yesterday’s mini brick workout I was really tired. I had yoga at 5 in the evening and I was worried I would have no energy.  I decided to try to go lay down.  I wound up sleeping for about an hour and a half and was so glad I did. It is always hard waking up from a nap, but once I had some iced tea and a snack, I was ready for yoga!

I think I need to get some napping lessons from this little guy.

2 thoughts on “Possibly the Hardest Part of Training

  1. Congrats on your nap!

    Look how little Cash was, what a sweetie.

  2. […] tired a couple of these days, so it will be important for me to get lots of sleep and work on my nap training.I felt good that I did something each day, especially in the morning before leaving for vacation.  […]

Leave a Reply

