Calling all Bakers

For about a year and a half, now, I have been involved with an organization called Girls on the Run.  Many of you have probably heard about GOTR and it is truly a great organization and I love the whole philosophy. GOTR is a life-changing, non-profit prevention program that encourages preteen girls to develop self-respect and healthy lifestyles through running and training for a 5K event. The curriculum addresses all aspects of girls’ development – physical, emotional, mental, social and spiritual well-being.

I was involved as a coach in San Diego and have been volunteering when I can up here in Sacramento.  Last night I was elected to the Board of Directors for the Greater Sacramento Chapter as the Marketing Chair. I am so excited to get more involved and to share some of my ideas and skills with the local chapter. Our chapter is fairly new and really trying to improve and grow.

Here is where the baking comes in. Next week we are having a Bake Sale on the steps of the California State Capitol to raise money and awareness for GOTR.  I will be there selling baked goods and telling everyone I can about the organization and trying to raise as much money as possible.  I will also be bringing some baked goods to sell for donations.

I thought it would be fun to bring a variety of baked goods from all of the talented bakers out there in the blog world.  Do you want to help?  Can you ship a batch of your favorite goodies (healthy or not so healthy) to me by Tuesday June 22nd? If so, email me at amanda (dot) modernation (@) gmail (dot) com.

2 thoughts on “Calling all Bakers

  1. Count me in. I’ll email you with details.

  2. […] 16, 2010 Want to contribute to the Girls on the Run Bake Sale? Read this and email me soon if you are interested! It is a great way to help a wonderful organization and […]

Leave a Reply

