Produce Heaven

If you know me, you know I love a good farmers market. I get excited about browsing the stalls, sampling products and loading bags full of fresh produce. This afternoon I had the chance to check out a new-to-me produce stand just outside of town.

After helping my dad and brother get some things at Costco, my brother suggested he and I head out to Davis Ranch to check it out. He drives by it all the time on his way to his girlfriend’s house but has never stopped. He didn’t have to twist my arm to go shop for farm fresh produce.

To make things even better, my brother treated me to lunch at this little hole in the wall teriyaki place. We split pot stickers and I have the shrimp and veggie noodle bowl.

I asked for extra veggies and my bowl was loaded! The thick, chewy noodles were so fun to eat and I ate the whole thing!

After lunch we headed out to the ranch.  Davis Ranch is a working ranch with a large produce stand on-site. Todd and I browsed the selection and I wound up coming away with cherries, nectarines, summer squash, cantaloupe and honeydew for my dad, and strawberries.

The coolest part? You pick your own strawberries.  You pay per basket and they give you a pair of scissors and the size basket you selected.  Then you head to the rows of strawberry plants and start snipping! My brother and I used teamwork to find the best strawberries and each filled two large baskets.  We must have walked away with 6 pounds of strawberries total for $5. Everything was so affordable!

At the end of the day, I came home with a car full of fresh fruits and veggies and I was in produce heaven.

Mixed greens and cherry tomatoes from Costco
Nectarines, cherries, squash and strawberries from the ranch

One thought on “Produce Heaven

  1. […] happen to you? Yesterday my day got away from me when a quick trip to Costco turned into lunch and Produce Heaven with my brother. But I would say quality time with family is MUCH more important than a swim in the […]

Leave a Reply

