Easy, Nutritious Spinach Artichoke Dip

As I have previously confessed, I am really bad at keeping our house stocked with snacks.Sure, you can always grab a piece of fruit in our house, but sometimes you want something a little more “snacky”. I’m talking chips, dips, etc. I don’t like to keep chips in the house because I will eat them all.

I have been try to make more of an effort to buy snacks at the grocery store, but continue to find myself with very limited options. I do not like to buy packaged, processed foods for both health and budget reasons. Snacks seem to always find their way to the middle aisles of the grocery store.

Yesterday when grocery shopping I ventured into the snack aisle and could not get out of there fast enough. I did grab a box of 100 calorie microwave popcorn bags, but as I continued down the aisle, I could not believe what I saw.  The aisle was stuffed to the brim with promotional materials. I have never seen anything like it. Things were hanging from shelves, floor displays littered the aisle.  I could tell I had not been down that aisle in a long time!

I quickly made my way out of the snack aisle and came to the conclusion that if I want snacks in the house, I am going to have to make them myself. After a little brainstorming, I realized that if I bought a can of artichoke hearts, I could probably make a decent spinach artichoke dip with what we have at home. And that is what I did!  I just winged it, so these measurements are not totally accurate.  Just taste as you go and add what you need.

Spinach Artichoke Dip
1 can artichoke hearts (not marinated)
4 cups fresh spinach
1/4 cup light sour cream
1/2 cup non-fat plain Greek yogurt
Zest of 1 lemon
3/4 cup shredded mozzarella  (could also use jack, white cheddar or Parmesan)
Salt and pepper to taste
3 cloves of garlic

Blend everything in a food processor until smooth.  Refrigerate and enjoy warm or cold with crackers or sliced veggies.

This makes about 3 cups of dip. Each 1/4 cup serving has 60 calories.

One thought on “Easy, Nutritious Spinach Artichoke Dip

  1. Tes says:

    The dip looks so amazing. I will surely try it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

