Happy Birthday, America!

Today is a day to celebrate our freedom.  And how do Americans celebrate freedom?  By eating and drinking, of course.  Isn’t that how we celebrate everything? Right now I am off on a 5 mile run through my hood.  It’s the 35th Annual Fourth of July 5-miler.  And guess what?  It’s free! Kind of the theme of the weekend, huh?  First the free concert in the park, then free yoga in the park, and now a free run! Somehow we have still managed to spend a lot of money this weekend.  Funny how that works, huh?

I really love starting holidays with some sort of exercise. It gets the day started off on the right foot. There is also the theory that it keeps me from eating as much as I would otherwise. I don’t know about that. The menu for the day is too tempting to resist.

When I get home from my run, Aaron will be whipping up a feast of Belgian waffles, eggs and fruit with mimosas.  Later in the afternoon will be heading to a family BBQ for two kinds of ribs, chicken, macaroni salad, fruit and patriotic ice cream.

Can you tell I am excited?! What are your plans for the holiday?

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, America!

  1. Deanna says:

    Love your blog. I love celebrating a holiday with a race as well! Ran a local 5K yesterday to kick off the day. I’ll have to suggest the waffles & mimosa to the husband though. 🙂 Also love your puppy running buddy!

Leave a Reply

