7 Long Miles

This morning my alarm rang at 6AM for a run. While it is hard to get up so early, the difference between running at 6AM and 8AM is significant. I love running in the cool morning air, and being done with my workout by 8AM is nice, too.

For some reason I decided last night that I was going to shoot for 7 miles this morning. I can’t even remember the last time I ran that far – it has to be at least a year.  I did a 6 mile run a couple weeks ago, and felt great during my 5 mile race on Sunday, so I thought it was doable.

Well, I did it! I finished 7 miles in 73 minutes which included two short water and walk breaks. The run was a little on the slow side, but right now I am just working on building my base rather than my speed. When I woke up, I felt like my right calf was going to cramp up any second. I stretched and used the foam roller before hitting the road, but started out nice and slow. I didn’t have any issues with my calf throughout the run.

One thing I need to remember for longer runs is Body Glide! I totally forgot to lube up before the run and there were some chaffing issues by the end. Nothing too bad, but just uncomfortable while running.

I think I will definitely be taking a nap this afternoon.  I have a lot of work to do, so I will get some of it done and then take a quick snooze some I can make it through the rest of the day. I am really starting to like naps. I think 45 minutes is the perfect nap time for me.  I was sleeping for 1-2 hours when I napped, but waking up from that was not fun. On Sunday I slept for 35-40 minutes and I woke up with no problem and felt so much better!

Happy Thursday, everyone! Can you believe it’s already Thursday?

2 thoughts on “7 Long Miles

  1. […] 9, 2010 This morning I went for a short bike ride to recover from my 7 mile run yesterday. My legs were far from fresh when I got on the bike. I had no distance or speed goals for […]

Leave a Reply

