Far From Fresh

This morning I went for a short bike ride to recover from my 7 mile run yesterday. My legs were far from fresh when I got on the bike. I had no distance or speed goals for the ride, I just wanted to spin my legs as many times as possible in an hour to try to keep the blow flowing and flush out the lactic acid.

It was beautiful out, still comfortable and there was a nice breeze. It was so nice to not be staring at my speed the whole time and trying to get my average speed up. I was able to look around and enjoy the morning.

When I finished the hour long ride, I covered 13.5 miles and my legs felt great! Cycling is great cross training for running and I plan to make it part of my marathon training. It is nice to mix out my workouts for the benefit of my body and also my mind. Nothing but running makes me go crazy!

Off to get the weekend started in a couple hours! We don’t have much planned, but just knowing it is the weekend makes me happy!

Leave a Reply

