I’m on a Raft

Everybody look at me, cuz I’m floating on a raft!

After our rafting plans didn’t work out on the 5th of July, we tried again today and succeeded! We headed over to our friends’ house a little before noon to catch the World Cup finals (aka an excuse to get together with friends, drink beers and eat food) and decided a short rafting trip was in order for the afternoon.

We floated a couple miles, drink beers and baked in the sun. It was hot! We are lucky we live so close to the river and can just head out for a short while.

The key to our short rafting trip? Picking up a few tall boys. It reduces the number of cans at the end of the trip, and one was all I needed. P.S. – please note I drank Miller Light and Aaron drank Mickey’s 🙂

We are starting to get the hang of this rafting thing and what we would do differently each time we go (or try to go). For example, a 4-person raft is really barely a 2-person raft. The two of us plus a tiny ice chest barely fit. The Golden Gate Bridge? Not quite, but a mini version close to our house!

We had a nice, quiet afternoon on the river with friends and can’t wait to do it again!

4 thoughts on “I’m on a Raft

  1. I had never heard of float trips until I moved to St. Louis a few years ago…now it’s one of my favorite summer activities! I don’t think we’ll have time this summer tho–sad!

  2. Mmmm, beers on a hot summer day = perfect!

  3. So jealous. I keep re-reading this and thinking of the Salt River in AZ.

    • modernation says:

      It was pretty fun, but nothing can come close to Salt River. We MUST do that again. Next time maybe Mike won’t lose his glasses and we won’t scatter styrafoam ice chest all over the place!

Leave a Reply

