I Think I’m Gonna Like This

This morning I realized that I think I am really going to like marathon training. I might eat my words in week 12 when I am running 22 miles, but overall I think I will like the routine. You know how they say kids strive off of structure and discipline? Well I think adults do to – at least I know I do!

I love having a plan! In order to meet my weekly mileage goal of 16 miles this week, I set up a plan:

Tuesday: 5 miles
Wednesday: 3 miles
Friday: 5 miles
Saturday: 3 miles

It was so nice to wake up the past two mornings and know exactly what I had to accomplish.  When I wake up and just know “today I have to do something” my day often gets away from me. It is easy to push my workout aside to take care of other things. But when I get my workout in first thing I am better at everything else I accomplish throughout the day.

This morning I ran 3.1 miles in 29 minutes. Can I say that my 5 mile run yesterday felt easier? I think my legs were tired from pushing hard yesterday. I am halfway to my mileage goal for the week.  And I am so looking forward to my bike ride tomorrow.  Yay for rest and cross training days!  Time to get my stretch and foam roller on and some weights, too!

Do you like to schedule your workouts or see where your day takes you?

6 thoughts on “I Think I’m Gonna Like This

  1. bridgette says:

    Schedule, for sure! I love structure!

  2. I’m currently training for the Chicago marathon and I love the structure of having a workout plan. I only run 3 days a week (run less, run faster program) and I swear that’s the way to go. I am excited about every run because I’ve had time to recover physically and mentally from the previous one. I’m not burnt out (ha only 4 weeks in though) because I’ve been able to incorporate other cross-training that is actually supplementing my runs. I tried to train for one last summer and suffered an overuse injury so this is the way to go for me. Furthermore, this program sets it up so you have a very specific goal for each run (in terms of pace, miles, etc) so each run I’m striving for this mini-goal and then I get to set sights on the next one. I can’t say enough good things about it!

    • modernation says:

      Natalie – is Chicago going to be your first marathon? I have been hearing a lot about the Run Less book from Runners World. I might have to check it out. Right now the plan I have (starting in mid-August) is 5 days a week of running. It scares me a little!

      • Yes–it’s going to be my first. At first I was worried it wouldn’t get me the mileage I needed but after reading the book I am 100% convinced I will be fine! I highly recommend reading the book–tons of great info…though you’ll probably be converted after reading, just to warn you 😉 Let me know if you have any other questions as I continue towards this journey…

  3. […] up. As you may know, I am a creature of habit (hence me being a weirdo and thinking I am going to really like marathon training). Plans have changed, conference calls have gone long, and new projects have been added to my […]

Leave a Reply

