Mahi Mahi Ceviche

With as hot as it has been lately, my goal this week was to plan meals that needed to be cooked as little as possible. Enter ceviche to save the day! No cooking necessary, lots of flavor and couldn’t be healthier – SCORE!

Mahi Mahi Ceviche Tostadas
1 pound mahi mahi filets, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
8 limes
1 jalapeno pepper, thinly sliced
1/4 red onion, finely diced
1 roma tomato, finely diced
1/3 medium cucumber, peeled, seeded and finely diced
1 bunch cilantro, chopped
Salt and pepper
1 avocado
Tostada shells

Combine fish, tomato, onion, cucumber, jalapeno, half of the cilantro and salt and pepper in a large bowl. Add juice of 5 limes and stir to combine. Cover and let sit in fridge for at least 8 hours and up to overnight. Every 2 hours, stir the ceviche and add the juice from 1/2 lime.

Serve on top of tostada shells with fresh cilantro and sliced avocado.

This was my first attempt at ceviche and it was nummers! I served with a side of non-fried refried black beans. To make these, I rinse and drain a can of black beans and place them in small pot. Over low heat, add a little broth (chicken, veg, etc.), the juice of one lime, chili powder, cumin and salt and pepper. Simmer for a few minutes.  When the beans soften, smash with a fork or potato masher. This is a nice twist on black beans, even if it looks like dog poop on the plate!

One thought on “Mahi Mahi Ceviche

  1. […] July 28, 2010 A lot of my running routes are out and back and encompass long stretches of the same old, same old. I don’t even have to think about where I am going or how far I have gone. That means it is easy to zone out and not focus on my speed or form. I decided to change that today. I had 3 miles on my schedule for the day and mapped out a new route on MapMyRun.com. […]

Leave a Reply

