Yoga for Runners

We have all heard how yoga can benefit runners. There is the obvious benefit of stretching. Often runners don’t stretch enough – I know I am notoriously bad at stretching. With marathon training right around the corner (and kind of already here), I know now important stretching will be. I really love yoga, but the price tag makes it tough for me to go as often as I would like. Luckily, I have found ways to practice without paying the fees of a studio.

Every Saturday in the Spring and Summer, there is free yoga in the park in Sacramento. Few the past several weeks, I have been going whenever possible. I also utilize YogaDownload.com for do-anywhere yoga that is reasonably priced.

Besides the stretching, what other benefits does yoga provide for runners?

– Stress reduction
– Yoga realigns the body and releases tension from connective tissue
– Improved strength
– Mental strength and awareness
– Injury prevention

At yoga this morning, there were a couple things the teacher said that hit home with me”

“Change your body to change your mind.” This thought really made sense to me when thinking about challenging my body physically. Right now I can’t imagine running 26.2 miles, but I know if I take it one run at a time, my body will adjust and my mind will follow.

“To be amazing in your life you will have to work really hard.” Makes sense, right? But how often to we hope to take the easy way out? To get what you want out of life, you have to work hard, you will have to fail and keep trying.

Leave a Reply

