Change Your Body to Change Your Mind

Happy Change the Way You See, Not the Way You Look Week! In honor of the launch of the Operation Beautiful book, Caitlin announced Change the Way You See, Not the Way You Look Week to help individuals change the way they see themselves “one post-it note at a time.”

As you may or may not know, I am a huge fan of Operation Beautiful. I have worn notes on my back:

And I have even been on the news to talk about Operation Beautiful.

Today I want to talk about the idea of Changing Your Body to Change Your Mind. This idea isn’t about changing the way your body looks on the outside, but changing what your body can do!

You truly never know what your body is capable of until you try! I know I never imagined I could ride my bike 100 miles, but I have done it twice! And when I started training for my first half marathon I didn’t know I would finish 4 in 1 year. And now I am venturing into training for my first marathon. While I have never ran more than 13.1 miles, I know from the past that my body is capable of extraordinary things. And when you know that, you will see your body in a completely different light. It isn’t so much about a bulge here, or a wrinkle there – it is about what your body has allowed you to experience.

It is amazing the power that pushing your body to new limits can have on every aspect of your life. It teaches you that being in an unsure and uncomfortable place is okay. It teaches you that setting and accomplishing goals feels better than anything you see on a scale or in the mirror.

During Change the Way You See, Not the Way You Look Week, I challenge you to push your body physically. Take on that challenge you never thought possible. It will change the way you see yourself!

One thought on “Change Your Body to Change Your Mind

  1. Great post! It’s hard to appreciate my body sometimes too, but like you, I learned to love it. I used to just give myself the hardest time when I looked in the mirror–“Look at that pudge. Jeez those thighs are huge. Not cute at all!” But after training for a marathon, every time a negative thought came into my head, I’d just think, “Those legs might be big, but DANG they are STRONG!”

Leave a Reply

