Craving Cross Training

I have been doing a lot of running lately.  And this morning on my 4 mile run, I was really feeling it. Yesterday I ran 6.08 miles and felt a little sluggish from Sunday’s miler.  I thought 4 miles would feel easy after two longer runs, but those 4 miles were rough!

During those 4 miles, I decided I needed to work more cross training into my routine the next week and a half. I don’t want to over train before real training even begins. And I think I need a mental break, too. I was trying to tackle 24 miles this week because I know it will be tough to run a lot next week since I will be in Chicago for 4 days. As always, that goal was subject to change.

I am not going to hold myself to running the remaining 14 miles I have scheduled.  I am going to go for a couple bike rides, do lots of stretching and yoga, weights and incorporate some shorter runs.  Instead of doing another 8 miler on Saturday or Sunday, I am going to push that until next week on Tuesday or Wednesday if my body feels ready.

These changes feel really good. It is so important to listen to your body.  Going too far too fast during training is the number one cause for injury.  I do not want to become a victim of over training! Can’t wait to ride tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Craving Cross Training

  1. Cross training can be a wonderful thing! Definitely helps ease the burnout feeling. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

