Tempo Change

I feel like this:

That is one of my favorite pictures from camping this weekend! I really do feel quite accomplished this morning.  I was tempted to skip my run this morning because it was already in the 70s at 6AM. I prefer to run when the temps are in the 60s.The heat also really affects me and wears me out. Instead of skipping it all together, I changed my plan from a 5 mile tempo run to a 4 mile tempo run.

Other changes going on in my training?My original marathon training plan called for lots of hill running during the first 8 weeks of training. My friend Bridgette and I both decided we are not going to stress about running hills. I would have to drive about 20 miles to find a good place for running hills, and that just doesn’t seem realistic. So I have made some adjustments to my Wednesday runs and will be doing more speed work and tempo runs instead.  I am going to try to do a couple of hill workouts during training, just not every week.

This was my first tempo run during training. Tempo runs are all about sustaining a hard effort over a specified distance. Not as fast as speed work, but faster than long run pace.  Tempo runs help improve metabolic fitness by increasing your lactic acid threshold. Basically it gets your body used to working hard.

It was hot this morning, so pretty anything felt like a hard effort, but I really tried to push myself during the run. I did a 1 mile warm up, 2 miles at tempo pace and a 1 mile cool down. I was very happy with the results:

Mile 1 (warm up): 9:44
Mile 2: 8:10
Mile 3: 8:23
Mile 4 (cool down): 9:50
Total: 4 miles 36:07

I am about to crank out a bunch of work real quick and then this afternoon my mom is taking me to lunch and a movie for my birthday.  The celebration continues! Anyone seen Eat Pray Love yet? That’s what we’re seeing.

One thought on “Tempo Change

  1. […] First Tempo run of training […]

Leave a Reply

