Speed Demon

Happy September, everybody! Can you believe it?! I can’t! I also can’t believe that Aaron and I have lived in Sacramento for a year (on Monday). This year has been crazy – so much has happened, so many changes. I haven’t really been able to feel settled this year. I think not having a regular routine is the reason. Working freelance gives me freedom (which I love) but isn’t as stable or consistent as a full-time job. I am currently in the process of trying to find my new “career home” in town and am looking forward to more consistency. I know in a few months I will be missing the freedom of freelancing, but I am a creature of habit and like having a routine.

Luckily marathon training gives me a sense of consistency and at least something in my life is scheduled. My Wednesday runs originally included hill work for the first 2 months of training, but I switched that up. Last week I did a tempo run and this week I did speed work.

I really love speed work, but it is HARD! I love breaking runs into shorter segments – it helps me mentally get through the run and the miles seem to fly by faster. Today I did 5 miles with 4 Yasso 800s. A Yasso 800 is 800 meter run (2 laps around a track or .5 miles) run in your marathon goal time in minutes. Okay, sounds confusing, but it really isn’t.  Take you goal finish time and just switch the hour and minutes to minutes and seconds. So if you want to finish in 4:00 hours you run each 800 in 4 minutes and 0 seconds. To me this is such an intuitive, straight forward speed workout. I get too confused when I have to run xxx meters in xx seconds faster than 10K pace.  Too much math!

Since this was my first “track workout” of training, I only did 4 Yassos.  Burt Yasso suggests building up to 10! My plan works up to doing 8.  These 4 almost killed me today. I didn’t do the workout on a track, just around my neighborhood, so the distance wasn’t exact.  Here is how it went down:

1.2 mile warm up (11:20)
.57 Yasso (4:10)
2 minute recovery
.50 mile Yasso (3:43)
.44 mile recovery
.57 Yasso (4:09)
.20 mile recovery
.57 Yasso (4:15)
1.2 mile cool down (12:00)

Total: 5.25

Happy with that!!

Leave a Reply

