Finally Blogging

Whew, what a day – and it still isn’t over. I haven’t had a second to blog, but am doing it now.  Better late than never. I am leaving for Denver in the morning, so I had a bunch of work to wrap up, laundry to do, errands to run and bags to pack. I am so excited to be heading back to Colorado for a visit and to help out my BFF with the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Purple Stride Golden Gallop.  Say that 10 times fast!

My friend Teresa lost her father to Pancreatic Cancer two years ago, so the cause is very close to all of our hearts. We have a whole troop of friends and family who are volunteering the day of the race and who have been helping along the way to make the race happen.  Teresa is a rock star and has taken on the planning of this huge event all on her own.  I am so proud of her!

This morning the weather was perfect.  It was a little cloudy, breezy and cool. It would have been the perfect morning to stay in bed until 10, but who am I kidding?! I was up at 7 and went for a 5.2 mile run with speed work. I did a 1.2 mile warm up and then did 6 x 800 (although my 800s are really 960s) and a .4 mile cool down. Here’s the stats for the 960s:

1: 4:12 (7:00/mile)
2: 4:05 (6:48/mile)
3: 4:17 (7:08/mile)
4: 4:05 (6:48/mile)
5: 4:10 (6:56/mile)
6: 4:07 (6:52/mile)

It was hard!  I could barely feel my legs during the final sprint.  I rested for a minute or two (walking) in between each.  All in all I covered 5.2 miles.

Tomorrow is Aaron’s mom birthday.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY JILL!

I will back with news from Colorado.  I will be busy working packet pick up for two days and then the race is on Saturday.  I need to try to keep to my training schedule while I am there, which means 10 miles on Sunday.  Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Finally Blogging

  1. meme says:

    Just got back from massage at Marie’s. Did I know you were off to Denver?????

    Miss hugs….later

    xxooxoxo
    m

  2. Kate says:

    Fast!! nice work 🙂

Leave a Reply

