Colorado Weekend Recap

Phew!  What a whirlwind! I am back from Colorado and have so much to fill you all in on.  I am going to try to keep it short and to the point, so hold on to your hats and get ready to step into the madness that was my weekend.

Thursday: flew in to Denver at 1PM and went straight to packet pick up for the race.  We developed a system that started working pretty good by the end of the day. Quick dinner at Chipotle before we headed home to do lots of paperwork and get everything organized for day two of packet pick up.

Friday: Lots of organizing and emailing in the morning before round two of packet pick up in the afternoon. After packet pickup, it was time to head to the race site and work on set up.  Setting up in the dark was tough, but having my besties there made it better.

Saturday: We woke up at 3:30 AM –  yes, you read that right. We had to get to the race site at 4:30 AM to finish set up. The rest of the volunteers arrived at 6AM and it was show time. The event included a 5K, 10K, and a kids 1K fun run. It was non-stop but the weather was perfect and things went great!

I don’t know if I have every been more tired in my whole life. By the time the event was over and everything was broken down and loaded up, it was around 1:30.  We went to lunch and were all pretty delirious. We finally got home around 4:30 and all crashed for a few hours. We were SO tired, but wanted to celebrate Teresa’s hard work and amazing accomplishments, so we went out to celebrate with car bombs!

Sunday: Football Sunday! We had a little Bengals football party. The girls pretty much just chatted the whole time, but the boys watched the game. In the afternoon we took the doggies to the reservoir and then went for a sunset hike. The hike was awesome, and I’m so glad we went.  Check it out:

Monday: I had a 10 mile run on the schedule for this weekend.  My schedule and my body did not lend itself to keeping to my schedule strictly.  There was literally no time and no energy.  But I woke up Monday morning and tackled a 90 minute run through the Colorado hills. It was hard, but I am glad I made it happen.

This week I need to really start to get serious about training. It is going to be tricky, though, because I start a new full-time job on Friday.  More on this later!

Back to reality – I’ve missed you!

2 thoughts on “Colorado Weekend Recap

  1. I had so much fun with you this weekend! I know it was hard work but I was so happy to be able to visit with you. Plus, the race wouldn’t have been the same (or as organized) without you. Please send me those pics. I am going to Photoshop Gunner into the one of you, me and Hamlet on the hike.

  2. […] I Pledge to Be the Change for Pets 27 09 2010 In the last couple of weeks there has been much discussion and many a recap of BlogPaws West, held September 9-11 in Denver, CO.  Unfortunately Hamlet and I did not attend, a real bummer since the conference was held right in our own backyard.  I was volunteering that weekend for a run/walk to benefit Pancreatic Cancer Action Network and helping my friend get everything organized, as she is the event coordinator for the Denver affiliate.  I didn’t blog about it since it wasn’t dog related but my friend Amanda did a nice overview of our weekend here. […]

Leave a Reply

