Garbage Day Pick Ups

Normally I don’t run on Thursdays. It is my active recovery day so I do yoga, strength training or ride my bike. This week I am behind a day since I did my long run on Monday – so I had to tackle a Thursday morning run. A big reason I don’t like running Thursdays is because it is garbage day. Running past stinky garbage cans is gross! As I am huffing and puffing I get to breathe in everyone’s junk. YUCK!

I ran 7 miles this morning with 6 x 1 minute pick ups mixed in for some speed work. The 7 miles took 65 minutes.

After my run I had a quick meeting before running errands because we had a busy afternoon ahead of us. Aaron and I (mostly Aaron) catered the team dinner for his football team tonight. We made a steak and chicken taco bar and OMG, those boys can eat! I hope when I have kids I only have one boy – I think two would eat me out of house and home!

Tomorrow is a big day – I start a new job! I have not started with a new company since August of 2005 and I am kind of nervous. Plus, I have been working freelance for over a year and will be going back to the 9-5 schedule in an office. I am excited because I think it is a great group of people I will be working with. I am not going to lie, I am also excited to work full time and have a little more money and health insurance!! I see an eye doctor appointment and hair cut in my future. Wild, I know!

Blogging will be a little less consistent as I get used to working full time (with a 30+ minute commute) and maintaining my marathon training. Any tips from you 9-5ers who also maintain your training schedule?

4 thoughts on “Garbage Day Pick Ups

  1. Kate says:

    Nice work on the run! I am a 9-5er (or really 8-6 or 7er a lot of the time). I mostly manage to keep up with training in two ways:

    1- Doing most of my workouts in the mornings (..when I’m onto it)
    2- Making training a priority, which means sometimes simplifying dinners, not baking or gardening as much as I’d like, and definitely not blogging as much as I should 🙂

    It’s really very manageable though- I’m currently on 9-10 hours a week- just a question of habit/routine.

    • modernation says:

      Thanks Kate. It is funny how quickly you forget the routine. I trained for lots of half marathons and century rides while working 8-6 as well, just never a full marathon. Last night I was contemplating sleeping a little longer and doing my 4 mile run this evening after my first full day of work, but I knew better and am now up early to do it!

  2. Good luck on your first day back at work – you’ll do great!

  3. […] on a run outside but when I woke up and laced up the sneakers, I realized it was garbage day.  I hate running on garbage day.  I vetoed the neighborhood run, but just couldn’t bring myself to go to the gym. Instead I […]

Leave a Reply

