White Bean and Basil Hummus

A couple weeks ago, Caitlin was talking about this White Bean and Basil Hummus she got from Trader Joes and how amazing it was. I thought to myself, I have a can of white beans in the pantry and we have a basil plant in the front yard – I should make this. I was leaving for Colorado the next day, so I had to hold off so it wouldn’t go bad while I was gone.

Today was the day! I picked up a couple lemons at the market this afternoon because that was the only thing I was missing.  I haven’t tried the TJs version, but this is amazingly creamy and delicious.

What you need:

Combine white beans, garlic, basil olive oil, lemon zest and lemon juice, salt and pepper in food processor:

Whirl away until smooth, and voila!

This dip/hummus is amazing. It is rich and creamy, super healthy, has a nice bite from the garlic and a little kick from the garlic. I could eat it with a spoon and be happy. But you can dip veggies or crackers in it if you want. 😉

White Bean and Basil Hummus
1 can white beans, rinsed and drained
1 cup fresh basil leaves
3 cloves garlic
1/4 cup (approx.) extra virgin olive oil
Zest of 1 lemon, plus juice of 1/2 lemon
Salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in food processor and blend until smooth.

One thought on “White Bean and Basil Hummus

  1. […] Yesterday I picked up Brown rice pasta, Mary’s Gone Crackers crackers, Food Should Taste Good sweet potato chips and Sabra red pepper hummus (which is now gluten free).  I was shocked to read hummus labels and see wheat on the ingredient lists.  Good thing I like my homemade variety. […]

Leave a Reply

