I’m That Girl

When I lived in San Diego all my friends pretty much knew I was always training for some sort of endurance event.  When I would get together with friends I hadn’t seen for awhile, the first question was always, “What are you training for now?” It took some time to get there though as I changed from a weekend warrior to an athlete.

I am now realizing I am going to have to go through that process again with friends and coworkers up here in Sacramento. I don’t expect people to “get it” and totally understand why I do what I do, but wouldn’t that be nice?

Last night we went to some friends’ house to watch the boxing match and I was “that girl” who brought a big ‘ole bottle of water. The question of the night was, “you aren’t drinking?” I would then explain that I had a 13 mile run in the morning so I wasn’t drinking. The next question, “Where is your race tomorrow?” My answer was, “It’s not a race, I’m just running 13 miles to train for a marathon.” It is funny to think that in the past a 13 mile run meant a half marathon and it would be race.  Not anymore.

Unless it is a special occasion, I am only drinking alcohol on Sundays after my long runs. I know that I could have had a glass of wine last night and still done fine on my run this morning, but it is more of a mental thing thing than a performance thing. It is all about discipline. My thinking is that if you are going to go to all the trouble of training for a marathon, what’s the point in half-assing it?

Anyway, my 13 miles this morning went great! I woke up at 6:45, had coffee and toast with 1/2 a nanner and almond butter and hit the road around 7:30. The weather was cloudy and cool, but not cold.  My route took me on an out and back course along the river. I finished the first 6.5 miles in 1:06:00 and stopped for a quick pee break and to have a Hammer Gel. I also carried a bottle with Perpetuem in it that I sipped on through the run. After the first 3 miles, I felt great and went into autopilot. The second half of the run felt better than the first and I finished strong with a total time of 2:11 for a pace of 10:04.  My last mile was at about a 9 minute/mile pace. I felt strong and was visualizing my marathon finish. I also knew that Aaron was home making me breakfast!

When I got home I drank a bottle of Recoverite right away, took an ice bath and then enjoy sausage, eggs and hashbrowns with a mimosa.  Life is good!  Now it is time to relax, stretch and enjoy what is left of my weekend. Can’t believe I have to go to the office on a Monday morning. I’ve been spoiled.

Now that my runs are getting longer, I really need new running shoes and really feel like a Garmin would improve my training. The only gear I think I want/need still for marathon training is:

  • New shoes – need
  • Garmin Forerunner 305 – need
  • A running skirt – want

Enjoy your Sunday!! We are watching crazy amount of football and will be BBQing later.

One thought on “I’m That Girl

  1. get the garmin for sure! it has changed my training–i can’t imagine not having it now!!!

Leave a Reply

