Sleep Deprived

I have decided that I am going to have to start going to bed earlier. I am adjusting to waking up earlier for my runs and it is rough. I prefer morning workouts, but was getting really comfortable with my 7AM wake up calls and 5:45 came really early this morning. Normally we try to head to bed around 10PM which would be perfect if I was actually asleep at 10PM. But then I have to get ready for bed and get everything ready for work the next day (pick out an outfit, make lunch, etc.)  By the time I make it to bed it is 10:30 and then I have to chat a little with Aaron. By the time I’m asleep, it is probably 11PM. If my alarm goes off at 5:45, that’s only 6.75 hours of sleep. To some people that might be a lot, but I like closer to 7.5 or 8.

I think my new plan will be to start the process of making lunch, gathering clothes and getting ready for bed at 9:30. That way I can actually get in bed at 10 and get a little more sleep. Even better, I should be really smart and make lunch while I am making dinner! I didn’t make lunch before bed last night, and this morning was in a frenzy trying to put something together. Luckily I still would up with healthy snacks and a healthy lunch, but I was kind of surprised! I wound up with a baked sweet potato with mozzarella cheese and greek yogurt, two slices of chicken leftover from pizza last night, and an apple.  I also brought my two new favorite snacks that I scored at TJ’s over the weekend –  honey sesame almonds and pumpernickel pretzels.  SO yummy!

As hideous as the thought was, I did wake up at 5:45 and was out the door at 6:10 for a 5.06 mile run.  It was dark when I started, which I don’t like but I need to get used to it. The run took me 48 minutes (9:29/mile) and felt great. I love the change in the way my body responds to long runs. In the past, a 13 mile run would have me out for a few days due to being tired and sore. But I wasn’t sore at all the day after this week’s long run! I know all that will change now that I am entering personal distance records. There will definitely be champagne this Sunday!

Leave a Reply

