Nervous

I am starting to get really nervous about the upcoming weeks and how I am going to do it all. Today I am SO tired. It is my first full week back to work and it is wearing me out. I have been spoiled with working from home and being able to sleep until 8AM and still be at my desk answering emails by 8:15. Now I am up at 5:45 on running days to get to work by 8:30. And that is even pushing it.

I know I will get used to my new schedule, but right now it is hard and it is making me nervous. I really want to give my all in marathon training and not do anything half-assed. Earlier this week as we were going to sleep Aaron said to me, ‘I am really proud of you for doing so well on your marathon training.” That really meant a lot to me and made me take a step back and say, “Hey, I’m proud of me, too.”

I want to continue to be proud of my efforts and not have any reason to look back and wish I had done something different.  It is time to just suck it up and make it happen.  I have 10 weeks left.  I can sleep when I finish 26.2!!

It is my goal to focus on my top priorities for training:

–          Stretch, stretch, strech
–          Core, core core
–          Long runs, long runs, long runs (luckily these are on Sundays)
–          Focus on quality runs

I really want to focus on quality runs. On Wednesday I set out to run 6 miles with 6×960 speed work incorporated. As I was finishing my second 960 (my version of Yasso 800s), I was really dragging ass.  I was trying my hardest, but what normally takes me 4 minutes was taking 4:30 or 4:45.  I decided it was my body’s way of telling me not to push it. I cut my run short at 3.6 miles with 2x960s and went home to stretch, do some push ups and planks. I had to remind myself that the training plan is not god.  Repeat after me – the training plan IS. NOT. GOD. It does me no good to push it too hard and wind up sick or injured.

This weekend I will be tackling a person distance record (PDR) – 15 miles! Other things on the agenda this weekend:

–          Yoga in the park
–          Wash my car
–          Bridal shower Sunday afternoon

Hope you all have a great weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

