Night and Day

Today’s run was night and day different than last week’s. I was incredibly nervous for this run because of how sick I got last week. I woke up at 5:30 to give myself a little extra time to digest my breakfast and get ready. It was worth the wait! I had 2 pieces of toast with peanut butter, honey and banana. I also had a cup of coffee with milk, per usual.

I started off really cautious and held back pretty much the whole run. I took more walking breaks than normal, but I wanted to forget about the clock and focus on taking care of my body. Getting sick after this run was simply not an option for a few reasons:

  • I hate being sick and the thought of spending another day throwing up made me want to cry
  • Tonight is my brother’s birthday party and it would break my heart to miss it
  • If I got sick after both a 15 mile run and a 16 mile run I think I would have had to pull out of marathon training and realize it just wasn’t meant to be.

I immediately felt the difference today when I set out. I felt so much more focused and present than I did last week. The big question mark was how I would feel when I got home. Last week the moment I knew something was up was when I got home and had no appetite. That never happens to me. Usually my tummy starts to growl as I am about half a mile from home. I crossed my fingers, and sure enough, not far from home my tummy was hungry!!! I have never been happier to be hungry in my whole life!

Let the marathon training roll on!! I feel like I say this every week, but getting sick was a real wake up call about how important it is for me to take care of my body. Marathon training is serious business and I think I was taking my training for granted.  Aaron made a good point after I was sick. He said, “If you were running a half marathon on a Sunday, what would you do the day before? You would stretch, rest and eat.” And what did I decide to do the day before running MORE than a half marathon? I spent last Saturday:

  • Doing 75 minutes of yoga in the hot sun
  • Walking 3 miles in said hot weather
  • Doing laundry
  • Grocery shopping
  • Shopping for bridal shower gift

I really didn’t think anything of it at the time, but looking back, no wonder I spent Sunday puking my guts out.  Lesson learned!

Throughout the entire run and all week I kept reminding myself of the wise words my friend Bridgette told me after I was sick, “Pain is really just weakness leaving the body.”

One thought on “Night and Day

  1. Kate says:

    Sounds like a great approach to your run!

Leave a Reply

