New Recipe: Spicy Shrimp Noodle Bowl

Tonight I did something I haven’t done for a long time – I made a new recipe out of a magazine. Remember when I challenged myself to cook a new recipe once a week?

That was a year ago, and it didn’t last too long. It is too easy to fall into the old favorites and just make something easy.  I am not one for following recipes word for word, but I was inspired by this recipe in the October issue of Cooking Light.  I love Asian flavors, but I don’t get too creative when I make Asian food at home. I stick to simple stir frys or even stoop to frozen orange chicken from Trader Joes (it’s really good!). One of my favorite new foods I discovered in the last couple of years is Pho – a Vietnamese noodle soup that is super fresh, flavorful and chalk full of vegetables (along with some beef).

I loved all the ingredients in this recipe and am always wanting to use more fresh ginger. So tonight was the night!

Spicy Shrimp Noodle Bowl
Total: 30 minutes
Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients
1 pound tail-on peeled and deveined medium shrimp
1 1/2 cups water
1 cup fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
1 (8-ounce) bottle clam juice
2  (1/4-inch-thick) slices peeled fresh ginger
1 teaspoon olive oil
3/4 cup thinly sliced red bell pepper
1/4  cup thinly sliced yellow onion
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 cup sugar snap peas
2 teaspoons chili garlic sauce or 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 ounces uncooked rice sticks
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro leaves
Lime wedges

Preparation
1. Remove shrimp tails; set aside. Combine shrimp tails, water, broth, clam juice, and ginger in a saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer, uncovered, 10 minutes. Strain broth mixture through a sieve into a bowl; discard solids.

2. Heat olive oil in medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add bell pepper, yellow onion, and garlic; sauté 3 minutes. Add reserved broth; bring to a simmer. Add shrimp, peas, chili garlic sauce, salt, and noodles; cook 5 minutes or until noodles are done. Ladle 1 1/4 cups soup into each of 4 bowls; top each serving with 1 1/2 teaspoons cilantro. Serve with lime wedges.

I made a few adjustments by doubling the vegetables and broth and adding a little bit of sesame oil and soy sauce to the broth for some added flavor. This recipe was really easy, fresh and simple to make. Everyone agreed that this is definitely a keeper!

Nutritional Information
Calories: 236
Fat: 3.6g (sat 0.7g,mono 1.3g,poly 1g)
Protein: 26.5g
Carbohydrate: 25.4g
Fiber: 1.9g

Leave a Reply

