Giving Thanks for 2010

2010 has been a year full of change.  Aaron and I were just discussing where we were and what we were doing last Thanksgiving, and I was shocked by how much has changed. For people who don’t live very exciting lives, lots has happened this year.

Last Thanksgiving Aaron’s Mom and Uncle came to stay with us for the holiday week – This Thanksgiving Aaron’s mom lives with us, while his uncle unfortunately passed away in the Spring.

Thanksgiving 2009 the only animal in the house was Trigger. This year the house is filled with the pitter patter of nails on the hardwood floor. In January we added Cash to the family, and Lucy joined the family when Jill moved to town in June.

Last November I was working from home, consulting for my previous employer in San Diego. The Monday after Thanksgiving 2009 I started nannying while still consulting.  I now have a new full-time job at an advertising agency.  I am really enjoying my new job and the people I work with. Sometimes I miss working from home (like when I have to get up at 5:30 to run instead of waiting until 8).

In May, Aaron and I also trained for and completed a century ride together. It was a lot of work and something I will remember forever. Normally Aaron is my ultimate cheerleader (which I love), but it was so cool to have him along with me for the ride.

Last Thanksgiving I thought I would never run a full marathon. This year, I am preparing for my first full marathon just 9 days after Thanksgiving.  Eeekkk!

Last year I was missing being involved in Girls on the Run since moving from San Diego.  Now I am heavily involved in the Sacramento Chapter and couldn’t be more excited!

The thing I am most thankful for this year would probably be adopting Cash in January. We had been wanting a dog for the longest time, and were finally in a house and had schedules where we felt confident in providing the best possible home for a dog. And I think we have given Cash the best home a dog could ever wish for. I love taking family walks and watching him get so excited to play and enjoy the little things in life.

What are you thankful for?  HAPPY THANKSGIVING

Leave a Reply

