Two Week Recovery Plan

I am really not sure how to best recover form the marathon. I am going to take it day by day and do what feels right for my body. Today I am sore, but not as sore as I thought I would be. I went to bed last night at 8:45 and slept until 7:30.  It felt so great. I am taking today off work and I have a massage scheduled for 4 this afternoon.  My calves are tight, my hamstrings are sore and my left IT band and knee hurt.

Here is the tentative plan for the next two weeks. I am planning to take almost a full week off running. There is a 5K this weekend in our neighborhood, so I am tempted to have that be my first run post-marathon. I am nervous about the post-marathon blues as I try to figure out what to do with myself now that training is over.

Here are some of my other goals to keep my motivated now that I don’t have long runs to look forward to:

  • Strength training
  • Core
  • Biking
  • Walks with the dog
  • Shorter runs just for fun

I am also working n building my race calendar for 2011. I have 3-4 I am already looking forward to tackling!

2 thoughts on “Two Week Recovery Plan

  1. Lisa says:

    What races are you doing next year? I want to do one with you! Though, my knee is kinda hit and miss for pain so I haven’t been doing too much running lately. And, CONGRATS on the marathon!! Nice job 🙂

    • modernation says:

      I am thinking about this Superbowl Sunday 10K, the Sac Town 10 miler in April. Maybe Parkway half marathon. Who knows! We should definitely do one together. You could do a 10K for sure.

Leave a Reply

