New Foods for the New Year

One of my resolutions is to eat new healthy foods and consistently add new foods to my diet. My goal is to strive to fuel my body with the foods that will make it perform it’s best-whether that is in fitness, work or life in general.

Here are some of the foods I want to focus on eating and adding to my diet. Some are new and some are old favorites that I have neglected recently.

Kale: more beneficial to your health than spinach, I am going to try to incorporate kale more often.

Oatmeal: An old favorite, I totally fell off the oatmeal for breakfast bandwagon. Not anymore – I stocked the pantry with old fashioned oats and I’m ready to “roll”. 🙂

Sweet potatoes: I have been loving sweet potatoes lately – roasted and in soups especially. I want to continue to find more ways to incorporate sweet taters into my diet.

Seafood: I love seafood an so does the rest of the family. I want fish or shellfish to be our protein of choice at least two dinners each week.

Eggs: The perfect little protein package, I will continue to eat eggs for breakfast and snacks. Maybe I will trade off morning meals between oatmeal and eggs.

Wild rice: I recently read how good forbidden (or wild) rice is for you in Runners World. I used to eat it as a kid and want to start experimenting with the grain.

Brussels sprouts: I love brussels sprouts, but Aaron isn’t really a fan. That has kept me from cooking them for myself – but it doesn’t have t. Brussels sprouts for lunch!

Spaghetti squash: I have always wanted to try spaghetti squash but always forget when I get to the market.

Butternut squash: Same deal as the spaghetti squash.

Any other foods I should be experimenting with?

Leave a Reply

