Last Meal Mentality

Do you have last meal mentality? I know I often do. Last meal mentality means that you approach each meal as if it were your last. We often forget that in just a few short hours we are going to eat again.

It is important to remember this when you feel like going all out at a particular meal. There will always be another meal. It is okay to put the fork down and come back again tomorrow.

Stop yourself and think about what you are actually eating, how much your body needs and what can wait until next time.You might be surprised. And do you know that after the first few bites, your enjoyment of your meal decreases. Remember, food is fuel. It isn’t a feeling, a friend or a fix for anything.

Speaking of last meals, what would your last meal on Earth be?

2 thoughts on “Last Meal Mentality

  1. lizalopoli says:

    I mean, theoretically you never really know do you? Any meal could be your last. But I agree with your point about not every meal has to be as indulgent as a “I know it’s my last meal” meal would be.

    I think my last meal would be really awesome deep dish pizza on cornmeal crust and a hot fudge brownie a la mode.

    • modernation says:

      So funny Liz. As I was writing that post, I thought the exact same thing. But I don’t really want to leave the earth unbuttoning my jean because I ate too much of something I didn’t love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

