Active Sunday

As tempting as laying around on the couch on Sunday morning is, I always prefer getting up and moving. Today was no different. We woke up at 8:15 and took the dog for a long 3.5 mile walk. There is nothing better than long walks on a sunny morning with Aaron and Cash.

I as hoping for a 9 mile run this morning since I have a half marathon in 2 weeks (cue gasp). But my legs were already tired after the 3.5 mile walk, so the run was cut back to 8 miles. Not too shabby, though! The run was a full 30 seconds per mile slower than my 7 mile run last week, but I got it done!

The half marathon is 2 weeks away and I would by lying if I said I felt prepared. Part of me doesn’t want to do the race, but I know I will.  I hate not being prepared to run my best race. It has been awhile since I have done a half marathon and ideally I would be in shape to PR. My fastest half marathon was 1:57:35 at the Carlsbad Half Marathon in January 2009.

That’s an 8:57 pace. On March 13th I will be happy just to hit 10 minute miles. But I am looking forward to seeing what happens an use this race as a starting point for the 2011 racing season. I hope to register for more half marathons this year and this way I have room for improvement (probably lots of room).

During my entire run all I could think of was food and BEER.  Good thing Beer Week started on Friday, so we are going to go enjoy the sun and a cold crisp beer.

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

