That’s More Like It – SacTown 10 Miler Recap

This morning was the Inaugural SacTown 10 Miler and I think I have a new favorite race.  I had zero expectations for the race because I have not been diligent about training. I just wanted to enjoy the race and running through my neighborhood and home town.

It is hard for me not to be competitive with myself, though, so I set a loose goal of finishing in 1:35:00 or less.  That would put my pace at 9:30/mile and be a :30/mile improvement over my half marathon 3 weeks ago.

Last night I ate my usual pasta dinner, drank a bottle of electrolyte water and a couple glasses of Zico coconut water. I woke up feel well rested and ready to go.  Aaron dropped my off at 7:10 for the 8:00 start. We had to pick up our race bib and timing chip the morning of the race which I didn’t like, but it was super easy and quick. Then I had some time to kill.  Thank goodness for smart phones, Facebook and Twitter to keep me entertained.

It was a gorgeous morning at the Capitol building.

This being an inaugural race, there were some natural kinks to work out. This meant a 23 minute delay to the start of the race.  No big deal! Once the kinks were worked out and race officials knew the course was secured, we were off.

The course was fantastic!

We ran through downtown, Midtown and East Sacramento.  The course took several twists and turns throughout the course which kept things fresh.  I was a modified out and back which worked out great for getting to see my boys twice on the course and at the finish.

Blowing Cash a Kiss

Checking the Garmin to let Aaron know I'd be at the finish in 33 minutes.

As soon as I started I felt great. I love Sacramento and running the streets of my favorite neighborhoods was great. I was tempted to push my pace, but reminded myself I had 10 miles to cover. I tried to keep my pace right around 9:30, but ended up settling in at 9:15-9:20/mile.

I finished in 1:33:32 and was very happy. I had a smile on my face the whole time, the weather was perfect (other than a few wind gusts). This race was night and day from March’s Half Marathon. I realized today just how sick I was when I ran that race. So much better to run healthy! And the course was much better, too.

Chas and Aaron welcomed me at the finish and we hung out on the lawn of the Capitol for a bit before heading home.

 

6 thoughts on “That’s More Like It – SacTown 10 Miler Recap

  1. bearrunner says:

    Great job on the run… The weather looked lovely and the pics were great!

    cheers

  2. Deb says:

    So proud of you. What an inspiration. Good job girl.

  3. bridgette says:

    Placing in your age group?? Say what?? That’s awesome…sounds like a great race!

    • modernation says:

      That is just a goal for WAY down the road. I either need to run forever so that it is just you and me in our age group at CIM in 2065 so we both place, or I need to sign up for smaller races. Or I just need to get faster:) I placed 12th in women 25-29 yesterday. I think top 5 would be an accomplishment.

  4. […] I was planning an Epic wedding, I think I did pretty good.  I ran the Shamrock Half Marathon, Sactown Ten Miler, Run to Feed the Hungry 10K, CIM Marathon Relay, Flapjack 5K. – Do more strength training. Pretty […]

  5. […] morning was the 2nd Annual SacTown 10 Miler. You can read my recap from last year’s race here. I don’t typically repeat many races, but I think this race is becoming a tradition. I really […]

Leave a Reply

