The Vicious To-Do List Cycle

Looking at my to-do list from today, I noticed that I had everything checked off the list that was for someone else or something that wasn’t a personal item.  All my work and Girls  on the Run tasks were promptly checked off, but reading a chapter in my book and stretching were still staring back at me at 4:30 when I was heading off to take care of a bunch of race stuff for Girls on the Run.

Why do we do that to ourselves? Is it a human-nature thing?  A female thing?  Or just a ME thing? The justification is that you shouldn’t do something for yourself until you take care of everything else first. But then later becomes tomorrow and tomorrow eventually turns in to never.

I believe in work-life balance, but it isn’t always that easy.  Doing things for myself makes me a better employee, friend, spouse, sister and daughter. So I try not to neglect myself or my other tasks.

While I left stretching (I have been ignoring stretching and my body is mad at me because of it) and reading for another time, I did get in a nice morning walk with the dog. I knew today was going to be packed with conference calls and meetings.  Since I have a long run tomorrow, it was a perfect rest day. I am so glad I did! It was nice to get outside and move, even if only for 30 minutes.

How do you prioritize your to-do lists?

3 thoughts on “The Vicious To-Do List Cycle

  1. I have the same problem…and my to-do list is constantly stressing me out! I feel like I’m always fighting to cross things off but stuff is, at the same time, getting added. I read a great Women’s Healh mag article about stress though and I’m determined to find ways to relieve some of it!

  2. Liz says:

    Definitely not a you thing…I do the same thing all the time. I’m thinking of scheduling a large chunk of “me” time in once a week at least (that’s NOT exercise) so I can have some down time and space for creativity. I love to write, but at the moment, my to do list, social life and other commitments are taking up all my energy and I have none left for writing – so I’d really like to change that!

Leave a Reply

