Household Exercise Philosophy

We have an exercise philosophy in our house that sums it up perfectly. Instead of the tried and true “Something is better than nothing”, we have kicked it up a notch to “It’s better than a kick in the nuts.” This philosophy can be carried through to any area of your life.

You know the days when you just don’t feel like working out?  Or when life gets in the way and it just seems like it isn’t meant to be? We have those days at least once a week, but when we make ourselves go to the gym and do something, it is never a bad thing.

Whenever we leave the gym, one of us will ask the other, “How was your workout?” On these “off” days the response is always, “It was better than a kick in the nuts!” As the saying goes, you never regret a workout, only not doing a workout.

Today was one of those days. Aaron was taking a rest day, and it is always hard for me to motivate myself to go to the gym without him.  So I deemed it a running day. Well, it rained pretty much the whole day.  As I waited out the rain, it just didn’t seem like a run was in the cards for me. But a little after 4, the clouds parted, the sun peeked out, and I grabbed my running buddy and headed out for a quick 1.75 mile run.

It wasn’t a groundbreaking workout, but I felt fast, enjoyed being outside and moving my body. And hey, it was better than a kick in the nuts!

One thought on “Household Exercise Philosophy

  1. He’s the best running buddy I can think of. 🙂

Leave a Reply

