Bracing for the Heat

Since I complained so much about the crappy weather, I WILL NOT complain about the sudden heat wave. I want to, but I won’t!

But, I can talk about how I am preparing to handle the heat with my summer workouts. Last year I realized that my body doesn’t love being exposed to heat for long periods of time. Three times last year, I got really sick from what I think must have been heat exhaustion.

So I try to make sure I get my workouts in as early in the day as possible.  Early morning is the coolest time of the day, so I hit the pavement first thing if I plan to exercise outdoors.  When I can’t fit in my workout early, I will opt for working out at the gym.

Staying hydrated is also essential to how I feel post workout.  In the most recent issue of Runners World, there was a great article about foods that have hydration benefits as well as other recovery benefits.  Coconut water is my go-try rehydration staple, but some others from the article include:

H2O+ ELECTROLYTES
CANTALOUPE, PEACHES, STRAWBERRIES

H2O + VITAMIN C
WATERMELON, KIWI, CITRUS

H2O + CANCER DEFENSE
TOMATOES, BROCCOLI

H2O + RECOVERY
PINEAPPLE, CHERRIES

H2O + IMMUNITY
YOGURT, KEFIR

H2O + DIGESTION
BEANS

Drink Up
Beverages with benefits

CHOCOLATE MILK
Its ideal ratio of protein and carbs helps speed postrun recovery.
COCONUT WATER
The liquid found in green coconuts has fewer calories and more electrolytes than sports drinks.
CONCORD GRAPE JUICE
Research shows it has more antioxidants than other common juices.
ICED GREEN TEA
Compounds called EGCG give it anti-inflammatory properties.

One thought on “Bracing for the Heat

  1. I just read that article too and thought it was great! Glad to know my watermelon addiction is good for something 😉

Leave a Reply

