Summertime Salads at Noodles and Company

Noodles and Company always brings back college memories for me. The company was founded in Boulder  where I went to school, and it was one of our go-to places to eat. Penne Rosa and Pasta Fresca were always my favorites.

Over the years I have been happy to see that Noodles has reacted to the tastes of a variety of customers by not only adding more menu options, but more nutritious options as well.

One of my very first blog posts was a recipe redo of Noodles’ Pesto Cavatapi dish, which just happens to be a favorite of my bestie. To this day, that post remains one of my most viewed posts and also one of the searches that brings the most views to my blog. The only pages that have more views than that post are the Homepage, About and Random Acts of Kindness.

The nutrition information on the Noodles website is straightforward, intuitive and shows you how to customize your selections according to your diet or allergies.  Even though they are all about noodles, they even have several options for people watching gluten.  Hooray!

Anyways – back to lunch today.  I was invited while back to visit Noodles and Company with a guest and try the two new Summertime Salads at Noodles – The Very Berry Spinach Salad and the Backyard Barbque Chicken Salad.  In the interest of full disclosure, Noodles and Company treated Aaron and I to lunch, but my opinions are my own. Also, I was a bad blogger and forgot my camera due to hunger pains, so all the photos are from the Noodles website.

We were greeted very warmly and when I handed over my “ticket” were immediately given glasses to help ourselves to drinks and the crew got to work on our salads. The manager, Ryan and his staff were great and checked on us a couple times, but not too much.

We got one of each salads. I do wish we had the option to customize our salad a bit. I know Noodles is really good about accepting special requests. I would have gotten no croutons on the Very Berry and would have gotten both dressings on the side.

I really liked both salads. I didn’t think I would love the Very Berry because I am not a fan of fruit in savory dishes.  But combined with the blue cheese, bacon and balsamic dressing, it really worked. There was a bit too much dressing for my taste, but it was delicious, so it was no big deal.

The Backyard Barbeque was great.  The smokey coleslaw dressing threw me off at first because it was a different taste, but then I really loved it. The fresh corn off the cob was great, but Aaron and I agreed it would taste even better if the corn was grilled.

A huge thank you to Noodles and Company for hosting us this afternoon. I can’t wait to come have some Pad Thai. Thank goodness for rice noodles!

 

3 thoughts on “Summertime Salads at Noodles and Company

  1. Those are some delicious looking salads! I love that they accommodate really well. I tend to stay away from any restaurant with “noodle” in the name simply because I’m not a fan of pasta..but I guess you never know ’til you go in there!

  2. I’m the pesto cavatappi lover so I’m glad to know they’ve got some new salad options. Can’t wait to try these out.

Leave a Reply

