Gluten Free Update

In July, I decided to try eliminating gluten from my diet. I felt like something in my diet wasn’t sitting well and after some thought I narrowed down the options to dairy or gluten. I really didn’t want it to be dairy because I love cheese so much. So I decided to give gluten a go. Some of the symptoms I experienced included:

  • Abdominal Distention
  • Abdominal Pain and Cramping
  • Alternating Bouts of Diarrhea and Constipation
  • Bloating
  • Borborygmi (stomach rumbling)
  • Fatigue
  • Headaches and Migraines

These symptoms can be caused by lots of different things, but the fact that within a week of eliminating gluten I stopped experiencing ALL of these made me certain gluten was not my friend. There were times I did eat gluten (hello wedding cake tasting, honeymoon, etc.) and every time I would notice cramping, bloating and headaches.

Going gluten free is not a diet to me – it is not about avoiding carbs (gluten does not mean carbs) – it is all about feeling my best and eating what makes me feel amazing.  Luckily, there are lots of foods I already eat and love that are natural gluten free.  But certain things require substitutes and alternatives.

Throughout the last few months, I have found several gluten free products I really love.  So I thought I would share:

Kind Bars: SOO yummy, ingredients I know and can pronounce.

Mary’s Gone Crackers

Bisquick Gluten Free Mix

Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Oats: Gluten Free oats are pretty much impossible to find. Thanks TJs!

Village Harvest Red Quinoa and Brown Rice mixture: You can buy a big bag at Costco, it’s frozen and turns random fridge ingredients into a meal in 3 minutes!

Udis Gluten Free Bread

Nom, nom!

Leave a Reply

