California International Marathon Relay Challenge

Today I finished a marathon in 3:48:29.  Pretty impressive, right?  Even more impressive is that I woke up 10 minutes before the start.  The thing is, I didn’t start the marathon, I just finished it.  I had three other lovely ladies to help with the rest of it! And we rocked it!  We ran for Team Girls on the Run Sacramento and we were decked out from head to toe.  We each held GOTR balloons at the exchange points to make it easier to find each other.

And we wore GOTR tattoos!

And of course had our sweet outfits I showed you yesterday.

The unofficial goal was to finish in under 4 hours as a team.  We kept in touch via text and cell phone and I was planning to see Kellie at our exchange point right around 10:15.  I got there shortly after 9:30 to make sure I was prepared and in place.  Since I wasn’t starting first thing in the morning I had to figure out my fueling plan.  I had the usual PB and banana toast and coffee around 8, ate the other half of my banana on the way to my exchange point.  At 10 I planned to take a Gu for a little caffeine and carbs.  I opened up my gel and was walking toward the trash can when I heard the guy who was calling out bib numbers as they came into the relay chute call out “9371”.

What?!  That’s us!  I quickly threw the Gu I had barely had any of onto the ground (apparently I forgot that I usually eat those while running), and ran to find Kellie.  I slipped under the ropes just in time and she transfered the timing chip to my ankle as I untangled my balloons and handed them to her.

Just like that, I was off!  I had a hard time getting my breathing in check the entire time because I was so fired up on adrenaline and couldn’t believe I almost missed Kellie after having been waiting for 25 minutes!

I felt strong the whole time and started out with a pace between 8:15 and 8:30.  My original plan was to take the first mile at 9:00 pace to warm up and then try to turn on the jets. But I pretty much always go out too fast and ignore that plan. I am just so excited to be racing that I don’t really care what the consequences are later.  Luckily it didn’t really matter because I was running 5.7 miles and figured I could suffer through anything for that long.

It was kind of surreal to be running the same course I ran a year ago and feeling so fresh.  I was dying at this point in the race last year.  I made a quick detour by the side of the road near our neighborhood to grab my iPod from Aaron (you always manage to forget something, right?).

I felt great the whole time but a few times I think the pain the full marathoners were going through was rubbing off on me.  I was running alongside people who were gunning for sub-4 hour times, some probably even trying to qualify for Boston.  I was so proud of them!

A couple miles in I saw my mom which was a surprise. Hi Mom!  Send me your pics when you have a chance!

I could not believe how fast those miles went by. Last year they dragged on for what felt like hours! I took my headphone out for the last mile or so in order to enjoy the crowd.  Sacramento really comes out for CIM and I love that!

I cruised across the finish line and look at the race clock.  It read 3:50, so I knew our team finished even fast than that due to chip vs. gun times! Sweet.  And I finished in 50:35 with an 8:49 pace!  I was super happy with that!

I ran a 10K last Thanksgiving in an 8:48 pace while I was in marathon shape, so this is pretty impressive.  I am definitely NOT in marathon shape but I really pushed it!

Aaron and Cash were waiting for me afterwards.  Love seeing those two faces at the end of races.

Our team placed 4th in our division!

Like my teammate Kellie said – just think how well we would do if we really trained! Next year we are taking home the title! Or at least top 3!

I had a blast doing the relay.  Just being out there and being part of such a huge even in your hometown is pretty special!

One thought on “California International Marathon Relay Challenge

  1. […] did pretty good.  I ran the Shamrock Half Marathon, Sactown Ten Miler, Run to Feed the Hungry 10K, CIM Marathon Relay, Flapjack 5K. – Do more strength training. Pretty good.  It is nice being able to go to the gym […]

Leave a Reply

