Race Wish List

After I registered for the Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon, I got to thinking about what other races I would love to do.  I am such a cheapskate that I always find it hard to fork over the cash for lots of races.  But it is something I really love doing and it keeps me motivated, so I think it is worth the dough.
I have already done some pretty amazing races.  Hello, riding my bike around Lake Tahoe?

Here are some of my other dream races.

Wildflower Triathlon: this was my first triathlon and I really had no idea what I was doing.  It was before I really knew how to cycle or run long distances.  I leaned on my stamina and strength to power through.  I would love to revisit this race and crush it! Plus, the whole experience of camping race weekend is really special.

Bolder Boulder:  This is a classic 10K in Boulder where I went to college.  I never ran the race during college because I had more important priorities like drinking beer and watching Grey’s Anatomy.  How fun to head back and run this race! I would love to run this race with my friends.

Ragnar Relay
I would love to gather a group and complete one of the Ragnar Relays.  There is one from San Francisco to Napa and one from Huntington Beach to Coronado in San Diego.  Both of those would be awesome.  Now I just need 11 people who don’t mind sharing sweaty vans and running through the night.

Lake Tahoe Half Marathon (or Marathon)
Lake Tahoe is so special to me. I grew up going there every summer, rode my first century around the Lake, got married on the lake.  I think I should add running around it to the list too!  I think we would have to move up there for a couple months so I could train at altitude (a la Deena Kastor).  That wouldn’t be too bad though!

Lake Tahoe Swim Relay
Heck, why not swim across Lake Tahoe, too!

Tough Mudder
Tough Mudder events are hardcore 10-12 mile obstacle courses designed by British Special Forces to test your all around strength, stamina, mental grit, and camaraderie.  There is fire, water, walls, you name it.  Watch the video on the homepage – it looks really intense.  This would be the ultimate challenge and about so much more than running.

(Source)

This list will continue to grow.  Any must-do races/events on your list?

Leave a Reply

