Progression Intervals

Woohoo – had a great workout at the gym today.  I cranked up the Florence + The Machines station on Pandora and rocked out 3 miles of progressive intervals.  I have a really tough time just running on the treadmill.  I either need to walk at an incline so I can read, or I turn to intervals to pass the time.

Today I did 3:1 intervals (3 minutes running, 1 minute walking) and increased the speed by .1 MPH each time I ran. I started off at 6.5 MPH and worked up to 7.1 MPH.  I felt strong a the whole time.

After the intervals, I did a quick but hard strength routine that included a little bit of everything.

  • Chest flyes
  • Lat pulldown
  • Kettlebell swing with leg lift
  • Bicep curls
  • Shoulder raises
  • Tricep kickbacks
  • Deadlifts
  • Plie squats
  • Lunges
  • Ab roll with stability ball

What is your go-to treadmill workout? 

Leave a Reply

