2012 Girls on the Run Summit Day One and a Sunset Run

Summit got kicked off to a fabulous start today.

image

I could not fall asleep for the life of me last night. My body was still on California time, even with the early morning and long day of travel.  I finally fell asleep at 1, so there was no workout in the morning.  I was a zombie until I got some coffee and GOTR President Liz Kunz gave the “State of the Union” address.  The theme of her presentation was about transformation – both the transformation the organization is going through we well as the power we all have to transform the world.  Liz is always so inspiring and her address is the best way to start Summit.  By the end the whole room was in tears.  All those passionate women in one room is so powerful – the feeling is indescribable.

After Liz was finished, we were treated with a presentation from Mina Samuels, the author of Run Like a Girl.  She discussed the power sports has to change women all across the world.  One point that stood out to me is that as women we tend to push credit for our achievements off on other people and minimize our accomplishments.  With sports like running, you can’t push credit off on someone else.  When you finish a marathon, you can’t say “well, someone else did that.”  Own your accomplishments, ladies!  Oh yeah, and:

In the afternoon I attended two breakout sessions – one on Strategic Planning and one on Enhancing regional Relationships.

After the day at Summit was over, I rush back to the hotel and headed to Bayshore for a sunset run before it got dark. I was so tired and there wasn’t much sun left, but I managed to squeeze in 2 miles in 19 minutes and it felt great to be outside.  Florida has AMAZING sunsets.  I think its because you are basically just sitting out in the middle of the ocean like an island.  Gorgeous!

image

image

image

Another great day at Summit tomorrow! Can’t wait. Fingers crossed for better sleep tonight!

2 thoughts on “2012 Girls on the Run Summit Day One and a Sunset Run

  1. DrRachelRuns says:

    Have a great time! I would LOVE to start a GOTR group here, but I don’t have the time or any partners in crime. It’s a great organization.

Leave a Reply

