New Recipe of the Week



As I mentioned last week, I have a new mini goal of trying one new recipe a week. This week it was Chicken Rollatini. I had seen the concept in my Cooking Light Magazine and thought it was something I could easily adapt with whatever we had around the house. Here’s how it went:


I defrosted two chicken breasts and pounded them out in a ziplock bag until they were an even, 1/4 inch thickness.


DSCN2561


I sliced and quickly sauteed zucchini and red bell pepper to make sure they would not be raw when served.


DSCN2562


I layered the filling on each chicken breast. One slice of procuitto, two basil leaves, sprinkle of mozzarella cheese and a few slices each of bell pepper and zucchini. Then the tricky part of rolling the chicken around the filling and securing it with a skewer.


DSCN2566


Spray the skillet with cooking spray and when hot, add the chicken, open-side down. This will seal the open end so everything stayed together. Once the open side was browned and sealed, I removed the skewers and browned all sides.


I made a quick pan sauce with some vegetable broth and jarred tomato sauce – about a half cup of each. I served the chicken, topped with the sauce, with a side of orzo with fresh tomato, basil and olive oil and a green salad.


DSCN2569


THE RESULTS: A hit! This dish turned out really pretty and was also very tasty. You could make this with any protein from turkey and chicken, to beef or pork and use whatever ingredients you have around the for the filling. This dish will definitely make another appearance on our dinner table. It would also be entertainment worthy and a great meal for when you have guests over.


3 thoughts on “New Recipe of the Week

  1. I do something similar with flank steak – stuffed with prosciutto and provolone. It is not very healthy but is always a crowd pleaser. I used to cook it with wooden skewers and it resulted in the nickname “meatsicle,” which my family still calls it to this day (even though I now use cooking twine to secure it as I find it much easier). I think spinach and a little cheese would be delish for a stuffing as well.

  2. Mish says:

    yum. I am going to try this.

  3. Wow, I’m so glad it was a hit! Great job:D

Leave a comment